We're delighted to announced that, thanks to the assistance of our Home of the Year partner Altherm Window Systems, James Timberlake of Philadelphia's KieranTimberlake Architects will be the international member of our Home of the Year jury. James (pictured below) will visit New Zealand in the first week of May.

As well as joining Patrick Clifford of Architectus and me (Jeremy) on the tour judging homes shortlisted for the Home of the Year award, James will give lectures in Auckland (on Monday May 2) and Wellington (on Tuesday May 3).  You can purchase tickets to his lectures from Ticketek here.

KieranTimberlake Architects are at the top of their game right now: last year the firm won the Cooper-Hewitt National Design Award, and in 2008 they were recognised with the Architecture Firm Award, the highest honour bestowed on a firm by the American Insitute of Architects.

In 2008, the firm developed a prefabricated dwelling (below) commissioned by the Museum of Modern Art for its exhibition Home Delivery: Fabricating the Modern Dwelling.

More recently, KieranTimberlake won the competition to design the new Embassy of the United States in London, shown in the rendering below.

The firm's best-known house is probably the Loblolly house (below) in Maryland, an elegant exercise in using prefabricated components to create a one-of-a-kind house. The image is by Peter Aaron/Esto.

James is the latest in series of esteemed international architects who have visited New Zealand to be on the Home of the Year juding panel, including Charles Renfro, Brendan Macfarlane, Glenn Murcutt, Kerstin Thompson, John Wardle and Ian Moore. We're very grateful all of them have taken the time to come here and share their knowledge and expertise with us. We hope you're able to attend James' lectures, which promise to be fascinating. Last year's events with Charles Renfro sold out quickly, so don't delay. Architects who attend are eligible for 10 CPD points.